Archive for August 9, 2008

Auto Parts Store Meets Mural Enchantment!

by G. R.

For my field work project, I documented a mural that was painted on the back of an establishment called Knechts Auto Parts. This building is in a complex with other stores around it. Directly behind the building complex is a neighborhood made up of apartments and other housing. The housing is mainly just families of blue collar workers. It would be a safe assumption to say that in this neighborhood graffiti could be attributed to kids rebelling against the surrounding society. This project, though, is not done by rebelling children. It is created by a concerned local woman who wants her neighborhood to be more aesthetically pleasing.

… continue reading this entry.

A Roving Eye on Eugene Street Art!

by E. N.

Day after day as I walk through the same alleyway on campus and seeing the different graffiti and other art forms, they become embedded in my mind. Seeing the spray painted safety pin, which insinuates that it’s holding parts of the road together, along with the mini tags on the trash can, makes my walk to class a little more bearable. Thinking about all of the tags I see just walking through my alley, I decided to venture a few blocks down and see what some of the other alleyways had to offer. Join me below by looking at some of the art I encountered along the way.

… continue reading this entry.